International Education homepage

How is Cambridge IGCSE taught?

At school, students may study a wide range of Cambridge IGCSE subjects at the same time. In order to follow a broad and balanced curriculum, many candidates take courses from several Cambridge IGCSE groups, particularly if they are aiming to go on to further education. This can lead to the award of the Cambridge International Certificate of Education (ICE) – an additional qualification that recognises candidates who pass exams in seven or more subjects, including two languages and one subject from each of the other Cambridge IGCSE groups. However, it is also possible to study a free choice of Cambridge IGCSE subjects. The syllabus is set by Cambridge, but how it is taught will depend on the school. The course differs for each subject, but there will be a mix of assessment methods throughout, including coursework, practical exercises, oral and listening tests, projects and written examinations.

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request