International Education homepage

What is the Cambridge AICE Diploma and how do I qualify for it?

What is the AICE Diploma?

The Cambridge AICE Diploma is an international pre-university curriculum and examination system that emphasises the value of broad and balanced study.

Designed for post-16 study, the Cambridge AICE Diploma demands knowledge of a variety of subjects from three different groups:

  • Mathematics and Sciences
  • Languages
  • Arts and Humanities.

How do I qualify for the AICE Diploma?

The AICE Diploma requires passes in at least seven credits. Each Cambridge International AS Level counts as one full credit. A Cambridge International A Level counts as a double credit qualification. For example, students could offer three International A Levels, or two International A Levels with two International AS Levels. There are many more valid combinations of examinations, but at least one International AS/A Level pass must come from each of the three curriculum areas.

Students who have access to Cambridge Pre-U Global Perspectives & Independent Research (Pre-U GPR) can also use entries for this subject to contribute to the award.

Performance in each examination earns points towards the AICE Diploma. The points correspond to the scoring system used by the UK Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS) and so will be familiar to admissions officers in the UK and internationally.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request