What is the Progress 8 measure?

Progress 8 is the new standard for UK school performance. It was introduced in 2016 (based on 2016 exam results with the Progress 8 score showing in performance tables published in late 2016/early 2017).

Progress 8 measures the progress that students have made across a suite of 8 subjects between the end of their Key Stage 2 (age 11) and the end of their Key Stage 4 (age 16). The suite of subjects is made up of:

  • English
  • Maths
  • 3 subjects from the EBacc
  • 3 subjects from an open group of subjects including remaining EBacc subjects and any other approved qualifications.  

The Department for Education has published a factsheet which sets out full details of the Progress 8 measure. This can be found here

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request